Skip to main content

UK Physics & Astronomy Graduate Program

The Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Kentucky is composed of 30 fulltime faculty members, over 80 graduate students, and more than 20 research, technical and administrative staff members. Research in the Department is divided into five broad areas: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Atomic Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Nuclear Physics, and Particle Theory. Within each of these areas, graduate students can complete both course work and individual thesis research projects leading to the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees.  See Physics and Astronomy Faculty Research for a description of individual faculty research programs.
The University of Kentucky, located in Lexington, was founded in 1865 and is the state's comprehensive land grant institution. It is classified by the Carnegie Foundation as a Research I University. As the premier university in Kentucky, it is particularly charged with responsibility for professional and graduate training in all fields. Approximately 30,000 students are currently enrolled on the Lexington campus, a 350 acre site within easy walking distance of downtown Lexington. Of these students, about 20 percent (over 6,000) are enrolled in graduate or professional schools.
Our department prides itself on its inclusive and supportive atmosphere, and we welcome students of all racial and ethnic backgrounds, sexual orientations, gender identifications and religious affiliations.